MX: Carlton Dry Honda Thor Racing celebrate dual round wins at MX Nationals

Monday, 30 April 2012

Carton Dry Header

After enduring a horror run at the second round of the MX Nationals, Carlton Dry Honda Thor Racing silenced their critics today, demonstrating a complete turnaround in form at the third round of the series in Wonthaggi, Victoria.

Brad Anderson and Ford Dale both claimed their respective round wins, giving the factory Honda team its first ever dual-round victory.

In the opening 8-lap MX1 race, Anderson grabbed the holeshot and led from start to finish. The multiple British Motocross Champion was second in Moto 2 and put up a gallant fight to finish the final 16-lap contest third.

Anderson, who won the MX1 class ahead of Todd Waters and Lawson Bopping said he was relieved to finally come away with a round win.

“It is an outstanding result and a huge relief for me,” Anderson said. “It is about time I turned it around and showed the team what I am capable of."

“My start in the first race was good and I was able to maintain a comfortable lead. In the second race the dreaded arm pump came back and I couldn’t push as hard as I wanted to."

“I was really happy with my result in Race 3 especially given everything that happened. I got a bad start. I lost my tear offs early in the race then went down battling with Lawson (Bopping). To come through to third after all that is a good result,” Anderson continued.

Anderson sits second in the MX1 championship standings, 20 points behind series leader Josh Coppins.

Despite coming down with a bout of the flu, Ford Dale showed great maturity and courage to finish all three races in the top two.

Dale was second in the two 8-lap back-to-back races before taking a gutsy win in the final 16-lap moto.

“I have been fighting off the flu all week and it finally hit me today,” Dale explained.

“The first two races were pretty good, I got good starts and didn’t feel too bad. In the final 16-lap moto I knew I had to get out in front as quick as possible to try and pull a gap before fatigue set in.

“It was great to come away with the win, it is a well deserved reward for the team who have worked really hard to turn things around since the last event."

Today’s results see Dale add 69 points to his championship tally and move him to second in the standings, just 13 points behind series leader Luke Styke.

Carlton Dry Honda Thor Racing Team Principal, Yarrive Konsky said he proud of the way the team pulled together after Coonabarabran.

“I am really proud of the whole team," Konsky said. “We completely turned things around today.

“After the disappointment of Coonabarabran we made a lot of changes including moving Lee Walker to the MX2 program while Ben Townley is out injured.

“Ben is still very much an integral part of Carlton Dry Honda Thor Racing, he has been in constant communication with us this weekend and will continue to work with the team as we progress through the MX Nationals,” Konsky concluded.

The Carlton Dry Honda Thor Racing Team will have little time to reflect with Round 4 of the Monster Energy MX Nationals to be held at the AJS Motorcycle Club in Wanneroo, WA on May 12-13.


Monster Energy MX Nationals MX1 Results: Wonthaggi

1. Brad Anderson 67
2. Todd Waters 63
3. Lawson Bopping 57
4. Josh Coppins 56
5. Cody Cooper 50
6. Jake Moss 47
7. Jay Marmont 44
8. Tye Simmonds 39
9. Dylan Peterson 35
10. Dean Porter 32

Monster Energy MX Nationals MX1 Championship Standings (after Rd 3 of 10):

1. Josh Coppins 181
2. Brad Anderson 161
3. Todd Waters 152
4. Jake Moss 148
5. Lawson Bopping 146
6. Jay Marmont 139
7. Cody Cooper 137
8. Tye Simmonds 133
9. Daniel Reardon 96
10. Daniel McCoy 83

Monster Energy MX Nationals MX2 Results:

1. Ford Dale 69
2. Luke Styke 60
3. Josh Cachia 57
4. Adam Monea 55
5. Cheyne Boyd 49
6. Kirk Gibbs 43
7. Kade Mosig 43
8. Errol Willis 39
9. Geran Stapleton 36
10. Lewis Woods 29

Monster Energy MX2 Championship Standings (after Rd 3 of 10):

1. Luke Styke 192
2. Ford Dale 179
3. Kirk Gibbs 162
4. Josh Cachia 149
5. Kade Mosig 140
6. Cheyne Boyd 136
7. Adam Monea 135
8. Errol Willis 115
9. Justin McDonald 110
10. Ryan Marmont 91



Previous     Next

Happenings     ARCHIVE

Andy Buckworth Wins Dew Tour Park

Andy Buckworth has broken through for his maiden Dew Tour victory over the weekend … Read More »

Video: Logan Martin Winning run FISE

Logan Martin has continued his domination by taking out FISE experience in Marseille. Take a look … Read More »

JETPILOT Does Clipsal 500

The Clipsal 500 is one of the biggest rounds in the V8 Supercar Championship. This … Read More »

"This is Now" Full Clip Released

"This is Now." the highly anticipated Freeride short film produced by … Read More »

Video: This Is Now - Teaser

“This is Now.” the highly anticipated Free ride short film produced by Jetpilot in … Read More »

Follow Us